Where does the name “Sfintilor Street” come from?
Noblesse Palace is built on a street of undeniable historical charm. The name of this street comes from the small church, called “Church of the Saints” or “Church of Saints”, which is located near the Noblesse Palace, built in the late seventeenth century. Sfintilor Street, which connects with Calea Mosilor, has been described by Mircea Eliade as follows: “Until 1925 it was, on Sfintilor Street, not very far from the church, a house of poor and sad appearance, with a square beside it. Through this square – once closed with a few old gutters, torn and set on fire by the neighbors in the great winter of 1917 – all those who wanted to get to Calea Mosilor used to pass faster”.
Anton Pann also discovered at the “Church of the Sibyls” in the Mahalaua Sfinţilor, in the winter of 1812. He lived through difficult times due to poverty, and at only 16 years old he managed to become a singer at the “Church with the Saints” or the “Church with the Sibyls”. standing out due to his special voice.
The beautiful story of the “Church of the Saints” or the “Church of the Sibyls”
The street does not have this name by chance, its name is related to the little church at its end which that is called the Church with Sibyls or Saints. This cult settlement was built in its first version, made of wood, in the 17th century by Popa Hera or Fierea from Bajesti-Ilfov, who later became a monk under the name of Filotei Monahul.
The church and the slum were called between 1689-1720, sometimes “Popa Hierea”, sometimes “Church with Sibyls”, and only in the 19th century it was called “Church with Saints”. “It was rebuilt in 1828 and is a unique in the Romanian Orthodox landscape because it was painted on the outside with images of ancient philosophers such as Aristotel and Platon. It is a recognition of the universal values of thought, which Orthodoxy has accepted from the beginning.
But it is also called the “Church of the Sibyls.” Here is again an important and unique detail in the Romanian Orthodox landscape. The exterior walls of the church are also painted with ancient female figures, contemporary with the philosophers mentioned and who were called “sibyls”. Sibyls were in antiquity “those through which the gods spoke”; they were fortune-tellers and ministers of the oracles of the Greco-Roman world. At least from the perspective of these two details of symbolic and imagistic representation, the church on Sfintilor Street represents a historical curiosity that must be emphasized.